Imaging Network Ontario is an initiative created in response to a request by the Ontario Research Development Challenge Fund for assistance in harmonizing its investments in imaging research. The establishment of the Imaging Network Ontario provides a means of harnessing and focusing the intellectual and innovative capabilities at Ontario universities in partnerships with emerging and established medical imaging companies to create a strong and sustainable internationally competitive imaging industry based on scientific excellence in Ontario.

2022 Symposium

The Imaging Network Ontario (ImNO) hosts an annual symposium that promotes collaborations, broadcasts career opportunities, informs trainees on diverse imaging applications and fosters a greater understanding of the commercialization process.

Our 20th symposium will be held virtually and we would like to use this opportunity to invite colleagues from outside Ontario to participate. The symposium features world-renowned keynote speakers and sessions that bring together our trainees with imaging scientists, clinicians and patient groups, and industry representatives. Our last symposium had 400 participants and showcased 160 trainee presentations in either 20-minutes oral presentations and 3-minute pitch presentations. 

We encourage students and trainees of all levels to share early-stage and work-in-progress research. The symposium proceedings are not indexed, not pre-emptive of follow-up publication elsewhere.  We encourage abstract submissions in all areas of research areas in relation to medical imaging and image guided interventions.

Tentative dates:

  • Submission system opens:  October 15, 2021
  • 1-page abstract submission deadline: December 3, 2021
  • Acceptance notification: January 15, 2022
  • Mode of Presentation (Oral/Pitch/Poster) notification: February 1, 2022
  • Symposium Dates:  March 22-24, 2022 (online)


ImNO 2022 Co-Chairs

Gabor Fichtinger

Queen’s university

Tina Khazaee

Western University


Scientific Committee

Corey Baron, Western University
Maria Drangova, Robarts Research Institute
Pascal Fallavollita, University of Ottawa
Nancy Ford, University of British Columbia
Richard Frayne, University of Calgary
Wenchao Han, Sunnybrook Research Institute
David Holdsworth, Robarts Research Institute
Miranda Kirby, Ryerson University
Tamie Lynn Poepping, Western University
Sarah Mattonen, Western University
Raoul Pereira, University of Alberta
Tales Santini, Western University
Timothy Scholl, Western University
Adam Shuhendler, University of Ottawa
Sarah Svenningsen, McMaster University
Jesse Tanguay, Ryerson University
Rebecca Thornhill, University of Ottawa
Eran Ukwatta, University of Guelph
Jill Weyers, Sunnybrook Research Institute
Dan Xiao, University of Windsor
Alfred Yu, University of Waterloo

Student Sub-Committee

Faranak Akbarifar, Queen's University
Sarah Aubert, Ryerson University
Dana Broberg, Robarts Research Institute
Rohini Gaikar, University of Guelph
Kesavi Kanagasabai, Western University
Liam Lawrence, University of Toronto
Nicholas Simard, McMaster University

Organizing Committee

Carol Richardson
Kitty Wong (kwong572@uwo.ca)